Old School with a 2012 twist

5 01 2012

My new obsession and current want – Friendship Bracelets. But not just any kind, oh no. The designer type! I’ve been seeing them everywhere lately – the colourful braids, but with a funky twist. When I was travelling I picked up a friendship bracelet in every town. They stacked right up my arm and when it came to the time to take them off, I was gutted. They were filthy and so worn but I thought they looked cool. Now I’ve set my sights on some new friendship bracelets. Hitting the shops this weekend for one that will stand the test of time….though this could be a violation of my NY’s resolutions…..

Net-a-Porter

 

Links of London

Still not sure whether a friendship bracelet is a good investment or not? Well check out this well known blogger, rocking the look the way I intend to. Style Scrapbook even has a DIY post on her page, which I am looking into….

Proenza Schouler

 

xoxo

(Last two Images from Style Scrapbook)

 

Actions

Information

5 responses

5 01 2012
suzysomething

Like these…am now wondering just how to re-create the look myself

5 01 2012
Feathers + Futons (@FeathersFutons)

I love these bracelets! Especially the pink/orange/green one in the middle!

6 01 2012
Sara MacFarland

I loved that one too….have been working out a way to make something similar for my daughter and myself

6 01 2012
suzysomething

After staying up into the small wee hours of this morning, I finally found my way to a site that seems to offer everything that is pictured in the “orange and pink” bracelet. It’s a company out of Grants Pass, OR, called Fire Mountain (beads?, I think) The photo of the bracelet probably does not show it’s true colors as the braided leather strands are sold in groups of 10 strands, and I think these are the ones that were used. I’ve requested a free catalog and will know more when I get it and learn more about what the thingys are actually called…now I’m just using “cone-shaped thing at the end of the bracelet that leads to the clasp” sort of terminology.

20 05 2012
Pin Puk

Love these bracelets!

Leave a Reply

